Avocado: a Love Story

Avocados are one of my favourite things ever.  Almost to the point where I would use an expletive to emphasize the depth of my love, except that my Mom reads this.

avocado

Little known fact: they stand up on their own.

Why you ask?  Well…

They are damn good for you. Sorry Mom. But avocados are full of the good monounsaturated fats, fibre (soluble and insoluble), folate, potassium, and many other vitamins and minerals. Heck, I even read somewhere that they might actually help fight belly fat accumulation (and I will get you that citation shortly). More concrete is the evidence that monounsaturated fats can help lower your cholesterol.

Like all diet choices, you need to decrease bad choices while increasing good choices. For example I’ll recommend mashing avocado onto a piece of bread instead of using butter, and then making your sandwich like normal. You just replaced artery clogging saturated fats with a vitamin rich and heart healthy alternative! Go you!

Guacamole is delicious. Smash up avocados with yogurt and lemon juice, and find some low sodium seasoning to top it all off. Then just try not to eat it all in one go… like I do.

It’s good for your skin. No I said that. Those oils and vitamins I mentioned earlier make this a great ingredient in homemade masks. My favourite goes as so:

*Grind oatmeal into a powder.
*Blend it with avocado
*Add milk or yogurt and blend until you get a smooth, thick paste
*Maybe also cucumber, if your skin is irritated
*Smear on your face and hide around a corner
*Scare the next person who walks by.

I hear you can also use avocado as a conditioning mask for dry hair, so if you try that, let me know how it goes!

The word avocado means testicle. Maybe you don’t see that as a good thing, but apparently I am still five and find these things funny. I was going to quit while I was ahead, but so much for that I guess!

Leave a Reply

