Better than Pledge

We have an old wooden coffee table that is subject to constant abuse.  For starters, it doubles as an ottoman.

The footstool version.

We also don’t use coasters.

So once in a while I get it into my head to give this thing a little attention and polish it up.  Having lost my can of Pledge, I decided this was a good time to find a homemade version and share it with you all.

If this is your first time at Lazy Hippie, you should know that my criteria for DIY versions is that

a) it be better than the commercial version (preferably in price but if not that, then at least in effectiveness) and
b) I have the ingredients in my house already.

So I felt pretty happy to find this recipe, which is simple and effective.  I cut down on it because I really only polish the coffee table, so here’s my adaptation. You will need:

*1 teaspoons Olive Oil
*2 teaspoons Lemon Juice
*2 teaspoons Distilled Water

Mix together in a small bowl.  The lemon juice will break up the olive oil and help it all combine.  Then dip a paper towel into it and start polishing.  Once you’ve covered the whole thing, rub it over with a dry paper towel and let sit.

I know it doesn’t sound like a lot, but this amount actually did the whole coffee table with a bit left over.  And the thing looks amazing now, and better than it ever did using commercial polishes.  I’m getting this weird feeling in my guts like I might actually want to be nice to it in the future.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Laury Spohr on August 8, 2011 at 5:55 AM

    Like the extra tip this month! and like you said before… always nice to already have the ingredients on hand 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

