Better than Windex

Maybe it’s just me, but cleaning glass around the house is at the same time one of the most frustrating and most satisfying jobs.  Mirrors show every streak and spot if you get it wrong, but look so nice when you get it right!

You probably have windex in your house somewhere.  I mean, those talking crows on the commercial make a good case for it.  But  my mirrors aren’t very forgiving, and that stuff is misting out onto our toothbrushes, and it’s about time there was an effective alternative.

Sellouts..

So, I did some research and this is my top pick:

1 cup water
1 cup rubbing alcohol (isopropyl)
1 teaspoon vinegar

Anyways, I was so impressed with this!  It left my mirrors shiny and streak-free with minimal effort.  I couldn’t find a recommendation on what strength rubbing alcohol to go with, but I had 99% under my sink, so I used that.  Actually, just being able to use what I already have around the house is my main criteria.

Good lighting on the bottle comes second.

Anyways, just pour it all in a spray bottle (maybe even re-use your old windex bottle?) and go!  Clean like usual, spray on and then wipe down with paper towel or a polishing cloth… or in my case, a paper napkin with a parrot on it. It’s effective, evaporates quickly, and is low on smell. I even used it to polish the taps, and while this won’t clear off the worst of the grime, (you might need soap for that, what are the odds?) I would still rate this one “totally worth your time.”

One response to this post.

  1. […] 7. As an ingredient in my homemade glass cleaner. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

